100 Tullis Street,Bridgeton, Glasgow. G40 1HW. Tel: 0141 556 4783.
The Bowlers 1991.
There has been a pub on this site since at least 1875, occupied then by John Scott.
In 1881 well known east end publican Andrew Wauchope took over the pub and renamed it “The Green Rest.” Mr Wauchope was brought up in the hand loom weaving business in the east end of the city for twenty years. He was well known in the Glasgow licensed trade and the Benevolent Institution. His famous blend of old Scotch whisky was called “Old Kirk.” Wauchope also owned the Green Rest at 13 Main Street, Bridgeton.
Andrew Wauchope. 1881.
The Bowlers Bar was closed down for many years and has now been recently reopened.
The Bowlers. August 2005.
The Bowlers is still going strong and has kept its doors open. Keep up the good work Guys.
Before 1928 Tullis Street was called John Street.
Tullis Street is named after John Tullis & Son leather hide merchants who gifted the hammer beam roof to Greenhead and Barrowfield Parish Church in London Rd in 1850.
1991 Graham Miller.
1973 John McKendrick.
1960 Lawrence McKenna.
1937 James McConnel.
Do you have any memories of this old pub? If so please leave a comment.